Running Alone

A slightly poetic take on the meditative virtue of running.

Mathieu Lavedrine
2 min readMay 5, 2023
Adobe Stock Licensed # 121256409

I gently close the door behind me.

Is it a crisp, sunny morning, a muggy afternoon or a rainy evening? It only matters as to whether I take my waterproof windbreaker.

I’m going for a run, alone.

The people I love are on the other side of the door, they will be there when I come back. I leave behind work with the laptop and my ability to answer the phone. Only problems and worries are trying to hitch a hike, they might start the journey but more often than not they will be solved, put in perspective or even just set aside by the end of it.

I’m running, alone…

Being truly alone is a rare thing. Even without physical company, instant messaging keeps us in the middle of the tribe, 24/7 news on alert, social media pumped with dopamine, and Netflix distracted.

I’m running alone, the mind wanders…

Some people meditate, with practice and dedication they can eventually sit down and overcome the brain’s incessant train of thought.

I’m not great at meditating but the rhythm of my breathing and my feet on the ground is hypnotic. Maybe the lack of oxygen is limiting my brain’s ability to generate random and unwanted thoughts. Same…

--

--

Mathieu Lavedrine

2h37'46 Marathon runner. M2 French Champion. Middle-age. Late starter. Data driven.